With you near

I am an hour away and six months behind
I can’t hold my body and my heart together
My feet invariably tap and dance
Singing tunes from times before
Reminding me of every single thing
The summer before and the rains
The winter’s cold and it’s pains
It can’t but be true
I’ve been away for too long
And must return
The sorrow of the past will burn
Away into the air

As the plane gets closer
All of the past fades
A full-er feeling in the edge of my heart
Waiting to leap
And dance
In joy
Singing songs of love
To the fullest of my voice.
The truth is clear
I’m just happy to be here
With you near.

Leave a Reply

