The only place I wish to be

People chatter and birds chirp
There’s a lot of sound and a lot of noise
A lot of words and a lot of dreaming
But none of them true and none with a meaning.
The train stood still
The air stood still
All against my will
All the dancing and singing
People merry and drinking
It is all immaterial to me
There is only one place, I wish to be.
Far away, in a distant land
The sun sets over golden sand
It is all merry here up in my head
With thoughts of that land far away
As I lay upon my bed.
Memories play alive
Like a picture that has come to life
Time has passed
And I can’t remember where I began
Through the good, the bad and the empty
I forget all that has happened
And none of It stays
For,
It is all immaterial to me,
And
There is only one place, I want to be –
Back there in the midst of the sea
And the sand
With a little tear
And a someone to hold my hand.

Leave a Reply

