Thoughts from a sleepless night

Wondering what’s up in your head
While you’re lying in your bed
Riding through today and tomorrow
And all that is ahead.

There’s a swimmer from the gold mine playing catfish all the time
A river flowing on through the writer’s pen saying things of all kinds
A voice leading nowhere but speaking of things long due
Wondering what’s up in your head
I wish I knew.

There’s a dancer playing cymbals
moving all about the floor
Waiting for a clap
To a song he’s never heard before
Then he wonders what’s up in your head
I wish I knew.

There are words hanging up high
From the clouds and from the ceiling
Coarse, false and treacherous
And often revealing
I wonder what’s up in my head
I wish I knew.
-Anirudh Shankaran

Leave a Reply

