A poem in the storm

Has the storm passed on?
I need to jump out of that window said he
Has the storm passed on?
‘I need to run by the Meadows’ said Me.

It was quiet in the morning
It came without a warning
Has the storm passed on?
I need to buy me a pen and a paper
The Only things that’ll make my life safer.

The afternoon was subtle,
Until in a moment I heard the clouds rattle
Has the storm passed on?
I need to write me a story
One that is not this gory.

The evening was roaring
With winds and rain growing
Will the storm pass on?
I need to read myself to sleep,
It’s been long since I’ve dwelt deep.

Will the storm pass on?
Asked I to the night,
I knew I was far from being right
The night was it’s vessel

For then The storm rose harder
Wilier and crueler
Emptying all signs of life
That lay, sat or stood in its pathway
I hope the storm passes on,
Any longer shall it stay and I’ll be gone.

(Slumber like eternity)
Came morning,
A light shone bright
Like a warning
It all seemed right,

The storm passed on
And to a newer place , I was gone.
-Anirudh Shankaran.

Leave a Reply

